Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

When I am in Italy and it is discovered that I am Australian, the first question is “My cousin lives in Melbourne (or Sydney) do you know him? The next one is always to do with kangaroos and koalas.

I decided to be a tourist in my own city of Brisbane and visit Lone Pine Sanctuary to see some of our gorgeous native animals up close. Lone Pine was founded in 1927 and is the oldest and largest koala sanctuary anywhere.

The best way to go to Lone Pine is by river on the Mirimar which leaves the Cultural Centre in the city every day at 10.00am. The boats have been taking visitors to Lone Pine for over 70 years.

20130730-073635.jpg

20130730-073700.jpg

There are lots of koalas at Lone Pine, most of them fast asleep.

 

They occasionally wake up, yawn, eat eucalyptus leaves, have a scratch and go back to sleep…

View original post 276 more words

